History

10440906_257927057728016_6294039688194790914_n

The Original Teahouse

One of the greatest pleasures for many visitors to Lake Barrine is the family history that has seen four generations of one family associated with its care. George Curry fell in love with the Lake while surveying the region in the pioneering days. He and the Local Council and Forestry Department formed what was then called the Lake’s Trust. This trust sought to protect the lake and surrounding land from logging. In 1923 George applied for a grant and was given a perpetual lease over one acre of land on the shore of Lake Barrine.

National Collection

The quarters of the 2/1st Australian Convalescent Depot 1943. Photo: Australian War Memorial.

Living on the edge of the lake in a corrugated iron hut George first showed the visitors around Lake Barrine in a row boat. Today we run two specially built cruise boats with a total capacity of 170 which take our visitors on the tour around the lake in ease and luxury. The timber Tea House was originally built in the 1930’s as a dance hall and has since had many uses, including an aquatic centre, guest house, school and was a convalescent home during World War II. Today the Tea House, nestled right on the lake’s edge, provides breakfasts, lunches, and their famous prize winning Devonshire teas.

lake-barrine-1961

Lake Barrine in July 1961. Photo: William Prince collection.

The 3rd generation of the Curry family still own and the 4th generation manage the Tea House and Rainforest Cruise and their commitment to the preservation of the natural heritage of the lake is unchanged for the past 90 years.